I feel like I need to start off by saying that the title of this blog has nothing to do with the content other than it has the word "games" in it, and Bryan and I quote Backstreet songs to each other on the reg. That being said this could quite possibly be my most ridiculous/nerdy post to date. But I think the male readers will thank me for this one.

Ladies, do your men love to play video games? Does it drive you absolutely crazy? Do you dread the release of any new game? You are not alone my friends. 

When Bryan and I started dating he was a 20-year-old college student living with 4 other 20-year-old guys in the not-so-exciting town of Stillwater Oklahoma. If you don't know anything about Stillwater, you're not missing out (aside from some really great people have lived there.) Because OSU was not close to where I lived Bryan and I would mainly see each other on the weekends. I quickly learned that a weekend for college guys were a great excuse to amp up the xbox time. 

I have to admit, I didn't understand how guys could play video games so often and not get bored. That is until I decided to give them a try. We'd play on occasion together and it wasn't too terrible. Fast forward 4 years and the gaming time has significantly decreased but you can never take away that instinct for a guy.

Every year there are two days that I don't look forward to: The release of the NBA 2Kwhatever, and Call of Duty. I know these days mean a few weeks of some extra play time. I've always played games with Bryan here and there, but this year we took it to a whole new level. 

After Bryan waited an eternity, in his mind, for the new Call of Duty game he finally got it on Christmas. I'm not sure if was the lack of sleep from having a newborn or a moment of insanity but I started playing with him and couldn't stop. We made it a semi-nightly routine to play a few games to unwind after the girls went to sleep if we didn't have anything on the DVR. I have to admit, it's been fun. So much fun that we sank to an even lower level and he got me my own gamer tag. If you don't know what a gamer tag is be glad, you don't want to know, much less have one! 

Now Bryan and I still play at night, and I've gotten slightly okay at it. I used to be so annoyed with video games, but now it's a fun, stress-free way for us to decompress, have fun together, and talk about our day. Not something I want to do every single day, but I'm not so repulsed by the release of a new game anymore. 

I think it's really important to have fun in your marriage/relationship and do things that you might not normally do that your partner is interested in. For some people that may be playing video games, watching shows that you're not crazy about (ours was The Ultimate Fighter but now I'm hooked on that!) going shopping, exercising together, cooking, etc. Whatever it is take some time and do it with them even if you'd rather be doing anything else on the face of the planet. It may not become your new favorite hobby, but it's a great and easy way to make your spouse feel special.

What's something that your significant other does that you don't get super excited about? Have you tried to join them in that activity? Did you like it and will you do it again? Sound off in the comments section.

Until next time....

Taylor
Bryan Ketron
2/19/2013 07:31:38 am

Love this one!

Reply
Lauren (Kolker) Haymans
3/11/2013 08:24:31 am

So my husband LOVES fishing... I on the other hand really dislike it lol But we recently took a day trip down to medicine park and it was really relaxing to sit there and read a book and play with our doggy, while he fished. And he got to do something he really likes... and not that I would really ever say that it was super fun... I have to admit, it kind of was :)

Reply
Taylor Ketron
4/3/2013 02:59:43 pm

It's funny how something we say is so dumb or we'd never do isn't actually that bad when we do it. I'm not a fan of fishing either but that's only because I can't stop talking long enough and I need for there to be some action.

Reply



Leave a Reply.