I made it!!! Tonight Bryan and I will end our fast and you better believe I'll be celebrating with 100 cans of Vanilla Coke!! I'm pretty surprised that I made it through the whole thing with zero soda. I'm pretty proud of myself. In full disclosure, I hated almost every single day of no soda. Some days I didn't really notice, but some nights we'd go to eat and I would crave a soda. I know that's not healthy, and I sound like a crazy addict but it's the truth. 

In other news, Izzy and I have taken on a new adventure. I've always wanted to be super mom who reads to her kids every single night. Well needless to say I have slacked in that department. Honestly most nights it's a win if we get everyone bathed, fed, and in bed on time without any meltdowns. And now with Elly being here trying to get a few quiet minutes of reading is almost impossible. 

Like I said I am not a fan of reading, but I remember being little and loving books, but somewhere along the way I stopped enjoying reading. In a world filled with technology and print dying I think it's important to teach our kids to slow down and use their imagination while enjoying a good book. I think electronics have their place, and Izzy's learned a lot from the games on her leap pad, but it's our goal for us all to unplug a little. I know Izzy loves "reading" and telling us stories so I'm really putting forth a conscious effort to spend time in books with her, and help grow that so we can stop reading the same ones over and over. 

Yesterday we started reading "The Wizard of Oz." I've always loved the movie but never read the book. Crazy right? We're only 3 chapters in and I'm already surprised by the differences. I do think the version I got is condensed for kids but it's still weird. Dorothy doesn't even wear red slippers, they're silver! Anyways, I thought it would be fun to read a story that's a classic, and when we're done we can watch the movie as a reward. I really hope we can stick with this and read more. I know we won't be able to every single night, but as long as it's semi-regular I'll be happy! 

What about you? Do you all read to your kids or on your own? What are some fun ideas to get your kids to enjoy reading? Sound off in the comments section!

Until next time...

Taylor
1/21/2013 09:26:24 am

My parents used to give us 20-ish minutes of reading time before bed, and we loved it! Also, my dad used to read to us before bedtime sometimes, and some of my favorite books now are ones he read to us (http://jajohnsonfam.blogspot.com/2013/01/all-children-except-one-grow-up.html). No kids of my own, but maybe a success story will be good motivation! :)

Reply
1/21/2013 11:03:41 am

I love reading and always have! but, being a mom makes it hard to find the time to read. but I do when I can. Isak got the magic tree house books for his birthday (well the first 4....there's like 50 books total) and got a few more for Christmas. we read a few chapters most nights and we are on the 4th book! He LOVES them. I think it's important for kids to have that as well as the bonding with mom and/or dad.

Reply
Taylor Ketron
1/22/2013 08:15:56 am

What a great dad! I think it's important to give kids some quiet time, especially when they've outgrown naps. I like the idea of using it to read!

Reply



Leave a Reply.